top of page
Search
Writer's pictureEmily

Best Books of 2021

Reading stands alone as my one hobby which has survived the onslaught of five children in nine years. I have great plans to resume more interesting and enriching activities at some point in the future, but for now there is just no time. And that's fine! Seasons come and go and this particular season doesn't leave much room for anything extra in my life.


Of course, if you adopt a loose definition of a hobby as "something that you regularly do during your spare time" I could add things like "wondering-why-our-house-still-smells-like-poo" or "asking-boys-when-they-showered-last" or "handing-out-one-million-snacks." Or that really delightful one, "clipping-100-toe-and-finger-nails-that-do-not-belong-to-me." Twenty nails times five kids is 100, friends! Follow me for more action-packed adventures.


However... books! This year I started strong with my reading but dropped off after Baby Brother was born - only one book each in November and December. But that's quite okay. This is not a race, with myself or with anyone else - the act of writing down what I read is simply an encouragement to view it as important, and to keep going. So, all in all, I finished 51 books this year: some old, some new, and each one worth it. Here are my favorites from the past year!


All Creatures Great and Small by James Herriot

If you've never read any of James Herriot's books, and you have any sort of interest in or affection for animals, you should. He's an excellent writer - I found myself laughing out loud, even though I had read this one multiple times before - and it's a fascinating window into the time period in which he lived.


Selfish Reasons to Have More Kids by Bryan Caplan

Thought-provoking arguments about why having more kids than you originally planned is actually in your best interest. I approve this message.


Consider This by Karen Glass

I actually read this one twice this year because I liked it so much. She explains how classical education and a Charlotte Mason education complement each other beautifully, and even touched on some aspects of modern "classical education" that have bothered me - so now I feel validated in those beliefs, ha!


Let Them Be Kids by Jessica Smartt

The subtitle is "adventure, boredom, innocence, and other gifts children need." Yessssss!


The Coddling of the American Mind by Greg Lukianoff and Jonathan Haidt

An important read for everyone, with many applications for parents. It has over 5000 good reviews on Amazon and they're not wrong.


Grant by Ron Chernow

I never used to enjoy history, or biographies, but now in my old age I find them fascinating. Grant is a person I had always heard of but never knew anything about; so I was riveted by the story of him, the time of the civil war, and - most importantly - the reconstruction period after the civil war. Unless you understand the struggles and failures of our country after the civil war, I don't think you can fully understand racism in our country and why it continued - and continues - to be a problem for so long.


Tales From Shakespeare by Charles and Mary Lamb

Charlotte Mason recommended reading this one to children as an introduction to Shakespeare - so I got it from the library, read it, and decided my kids aren't quite ready for it; but it was an engaging introduction to Shakespeare for myself! It's basically a series of synopses of Shakespeare's plays, but written using as much of his original language as possible.


Adventuring Together by Greta Eskridge

An encouragement to spend more time together as a family with adventures, whether large or small - and plenty of reasons about why it is worthwhile. I finished this book and felt more excited about spending more time with my kids, which is definitely a good sign.


What have you read lately? I'm always on the lookout for more to add to my lists!


And if you don't already, I would highly recommend making time for even just a little reading each week. I've seen first-hand the power of a good book; the way it can change your perspective and broaden your mind is invaluable.


“I read my eyes out and can’t read half enough…

the more one reads the more one sees we have to read.” ~ John Adams


83 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page