top of page
Search
Writer's pictureEmily

Thirty Four Trips Around the Sun

It's my birthday week, and in honor of it I present to you a series of Reflections and Muses from the past year - in no particular order or importance or coherence (see #4; also #7).


1. Girls are different from boys. It's been nine months with a tiny female in the house, and I will spare you the details, but she's already surprisingly different from her brothers. I like to consider myself an enlightened and educated person (ha!) and didn't want to impose any assumptions upon her little personality, but she's made it pretty clear, all on her own, that she is not a boy. We love her dearly and can't wait to see this small person grow up.



2. Children are a blessing. We knew this before, but more time with them only reinforces it. Note, I didn't say they were easy; I didn't say they were always fun; like anything worthwhile in life, they are challenging and hard work and difficult at times. But, as my husband and I slowly learn to serve without grudging and to pray for strength in the midst of exhaustion, we start to see even more of the blessing and joy that they bring. It's amazing!



3. There's a lot of joy to be found in the old-fashioned gender roles. Gasp! Depending on where you live and who you are surrounded by, this might sound radical or absurd. But it's the truth - I'm a mom, at home with my kids, cooking meals, and cleaning the house in all its stereotypical glory. And each year it (strangely and unexpectedly and amazingly) becomes more rewarding. I really, really love it. Creating a cozy home, cooking creative meals, teaching + training + caring for little people, and connecting with and serving others in our church and community is incredibly rewarding. Honestly, don't we each long for a real home in our life? A cozy and comfortable place to belong, where memories are made, food is enjoyed, and we are loved by those we love in return? I don't know a person on this earth who doesn't desire such a place. So why should the work that creates this haven be dismissed as insignificant? Rather, it is indispensable.



4. I'm tired. Almost always. I know it will improve when I wean the baby, when she sleeps more consistently, and when the kids stop waking in the night from fear or sickness or mis-placed lovies. And though I look forward to those days, I also don't want to wish away our current season. The children grow quickly enough and there's no need to rush it.


5. God is good and his gospel of grace is radical. He has richly blessed us, and I can see it each day. I started a habit this year for nights when I don't immediately fall asleep; I try to think of ten things from the day that I can be thankful for. Some days are easier than others, but every time I try, I can think of ten. Or more!



6. My new favorite thing about homeschooling is the time together. Which is funny because it can also easily turn into my least favorite thing. I mean, being with the same four little people 24/7 is not always easy. It's an exercise in patience and grace for all of us! But - I'm starting to see the beauty of little conversations and insights into their hearts that happen because we spend so much time together. You just can't force people to open up and share their hearts - it only happens when and where the mood strikes. The beauty of being together so much is that I have a much greater chance of being with my child at that magical moment when he is ready to talk, or when he has a question about something important - and, if I am paying attention and willing to take the time, it can be a valuable moment of learning their thoughts and and hopes and fears. This has happened multiple times recently and it's such a gift; one that would be much harder to come by if we had less time together.


7. I'm astounded at the ridiculous ways I waste my valuable brain cells. Like trying to remember how many times the baby spit up on my pants so I can decide if I should wash them or not. Or answering questions like, "Will dinosaurs have teeth in heaven?" and "If Gluntabeck and Dingalo race and go fifty-hundred-ten who is faster?" No wonder my brain feels crammed and jammed to the brim.



Happy Tuesday to you!

11 views

Recent Posts

See All

To My Son

コメント


bottom of page