top of page
Search
Writer's pictureEmily

Best Books of 2019!

Well, the past three - four? five? - weeks have been a whirlwind, and I feel like we are finally finding our way back into a routine and watching the dust settle around us. And hey, it's a new year! And a new decade! I praise God for the gift of another new year and all the memories of the past one.


Once again, I tracked my reading through 2019, and the grand total this time was.... 54 books. *applause, please*

It's not as many as in 2018 but I HAD A STINKIN BABY and we all know how that complicates things. Plus, I'm really not trying to hit a certain number or beat a goal - I track my books because a) it motivates me to finish some that I might otherwise put off and b) it's really my only hobby now so I enjoy seeing the progress.


Enough rambling - here are my favorites that I read in 2019!


The Read Aloud Family by Sarah Mackenzie

I finished each chapter just itching to read more to my kids, which has got to be a good sign. Her podcasts are just as good! Check out the Read Aloud Revival, you won't regret it.


Bringing Up Bebe by Pamela Druckerman

A fascinating story about parenting in a different culture, and some good practical advice besides!


Cozy Minimalist Home by Myquillyn Smith

Some home decor books are fun to look through but leave you with NO practical ideas of how to make effective changes in your own house ("go spend $3000 on a new sofa" does not count as a practical idea). Not true of this book! I love her style and the book was actually useful too.


Teaching From Rest by Sarah Mackenzie

Another gem that left me feeling more excited and energized about our homeschool life.


Loving the Little Years by Rachel Jankovic

This was a quick and easy read but had many valuable nuggets that subtly changed my perspective on parenting. And I love the purpose of the book - after all, we don't just want to survive these years, but we'd like to actually enjoy them, wouldn't we?


Digital Minimalism by Cal Newport

This one changed my perspective on technology and although he's pretty radical, I'd say his ideas are definitely worth considering.


Bach: the Learned Musician by Christoph Wolff

It's very strange to me but somehow I've acquired a new taste for biographies over the past two years. This one was well done and very interesting to me though non-musicians might find the long descriptions of his pieces to be rather dry.


Happy New Year! My book count is starting over and I'm looking forward to many more good ones in 2020!



15 views

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


bottom of page